Do you want to be informed on new Posts on this Thread? (members only)

S&S Swan Maintenance - Staysail tension
31 March 2012 - 12:06

Staysail tension

I have a permanently fitted furling staysail on my 411. Has anybody got experence of how to set the correct tension. I start by releasing the tension on the back stay then tighten the forestay, but have problems getting the correct tension on the staysail. As soon as I harden up on the back stay to tighten the forestay, slack develops on the stay sail.   Should I over tighten the staysail in the first instance?  

John B  411-010

31 March 2012 - 18:52

I am not an expert and I am interested in learning from experts who will surely intervene but this is what I think as a "theoretician".

First our boats are not thought as Cutters so we either sail them with a genoa and a main or with a staysail on the babystay and a strongly reduced main (trysail).

In the first case the main fore-aft standing rigging for first-order tuning are the forestay and the backstay only; the babystay and the runners are used for second-order tuning (in order to avoid mast pumping, for example).

In the second case the main fore-aft standing rigging function is taken over by the babystay and the runners while the stay and the backstay become second-order helpers.

Summarizing:
1) the use of both genoa and staysail is discouraged and when in port keep the rigging tightened just the minimum necessary to avoid eccessive shaking. I do not know any particular rule.
2) if you sail with the genoa, you start with a babystay not tightened and only after having properly tuned the backstay for wind and whatever, you move the babystay slider forward untill you eliminate the bending of the babystay. Not too much because you may unwillingly curve the mast; in this case the use of the runners is probably also recommended.