Do you want to be informed on new Posts on this Thread? (members only)

S&S Swan Maintenance - Swan 47 (1978) - auto pilot recommendations
12 March 2019 - 03:28

Swan 47 (1978) - auto pilot recommendations

Dear Members,

going to install a new auto pilot on my swan 47 and is looking for recommendations. 

Will be doing a fair bit of offshore sailing, so the auto pilot should be able to cope with big waves / swell. 

Of course, I am looking for something that doesn’t use to much power. 

Looking forward to your recommendations 

fair winds and following seas 

Chris 

15 March 2019 - 12:16

Dear Chris

As a  reference, a strong helmsman can produce 2 kNm torque in the S47 rudder

Kind regards
Lars

25 March 2019 - 10:11

hello chris,

i am looking at the moment also for an autopilot.

i am not an expert at all in this, but a friend is having a "jefa" drive.

that looks to me verry durabel.

also the homepage of jefa is showing any installation details.

pretty clean and sorted that factory.

just an idea for you

here a link for a complete system, not cheap, but hopefuly a good one

stefan 

https://lepper-marine.de/navigationsgeraete/autopiloten/simrad-autopiloten/30169/simrad-nac-3-precision-9-ap44-dd15-direct-drive-nmea2000-autopilot-pack

25 March 2019 - 19:41

Dear Chris,

I installed a Raymarine Type 3 Hydraulic Autopilot in Sarabande in 2014. I was attracted to the new gyroscope which boasted a high performance, and the pilot can work on both compass and wind angle settings. It has been good, and with practice, I have been able to steer the boat in varying conditions under sail efficiently. The power requirement can vary, and relies upon a balanced sail plan to be efficient. It has been reliable up until last autumn when the electric oil pump failed, which according to Raymarinen is due to "lack of service". I have paid for a replacement pump, which I will install this spring.