Do you want to be informed on new Posts on this Thread? (members only)

Keel Bolts and General Topics on Keel - Keel infiltration
21 December 2020 - 16:40

Keel infiltration

Dear Swan Lovers

My swan 38 is now on dry dock for winter.

Some water is getting out from the keel (small drops).

There is no visible cracks between keel and hull.

Wherebdoes the infiltration come from ?

How to proceed to eleminate this ?

Many thanks in advance for your help.

13 January 2021 - 15:49

Hi Serge,

I am by no means an expert (luckily) and others might be better placed to answer but this looks a bit like (the early signs of) osmosis to me ...?

Cheers

Stefan

Kairos - 57/043

13 January 2021 - 20:50

Dear Serge,

the keel is lead, and it's likely there is a filler on top of the lead and under the primer/antifouling. Could it be some water infiltrated  underneath the filler?

Please keep us posted on this!

Fair winds!

matteo (47/069 Vanessa)

16 January 2021 - 09:09

Hi,

is there not, as in others like 57, some places in the keel to add ballast in front or rear of the keel to adjust the boat balance ?

it looks like the front one...

Professor Lars can tell for sure if it is...

Algol (57 #007)

16 January 2021 - 09:22

Dear Algol,

Serge's boat is a38, and there are no pockets in this model. Hope to see more and detailed images from Serge.

Fair winds!

matteo (47/069 Vanessa)

16 January 2021 - 12:52

Dear all

Also the 38 has keel pockets, a round one forward, and an oval one aft, visible on SERGE's photo.
According to the records both pockets are filled from 022 onwards, and it needs to be checked if the pockets are filled, but the contours visible.
Kind regards
Lars

16 January 2021 - 12:59

Dear Lars,

thank you! I couldn't find pockets on my old 38/067 Only You (and I now understand why, they have been filled since delivering) and thought all the 38's did not have pockets !

A new portion of knowledge on my small knowledge on S&S Swan!

Fair winds!