Do you want to be informed on new Posts on this Thread? (members only)

Sail & Rigging - Running Backstays, babystay 411
25 July 2009 - 16:01

Running Backstays, babystay 411

I am new to this boat, and have not sailed her in any heavy weather.  Presently, she has no running backstays fitted.  My question is - under wnat conditions might the mast pump, and when would I really need the running backstays?  Could I leave them off, and just lay a reef or two in the main to address?  Similarly with the babystay - it gets in the way of taking a big headsail - if I am not going to fly a staysail, and considering the approach above to address any mast pumping (shorten sail vs tension the babystay and running backstays), might I just as well leave the babystay off for day sailing?  Any ideas welcome -

Thanks

Geoff

26 July 2009 - 18:26

Geoff.

The Swan 411 has a very large rig for its size. It is also very heavy with mine having beeen weighed recently at 750kgs

I have fitted my running backstays so that they can be stored against the shrouds so they are only used when I consider it a requirement. The original Swan masts are incredibly thick in section. I use my running backstays only when going upwind in heavy weather. Belt and braces!

The baby stay can be moved to the mast in light airs to make tacking easy, but I would recomend its use in anything above Force 3. I have fitted an extension to it so that it can be taken forward on the foredeck track and used to fly a Staysail which I do in Force 6+ upwind. This with 1,2, or 3 reefs makes the yacht very easy to control with a small crew. In fact if you bring the sheets to the spinnacker winches the helmsman can tack single handed.     

26 July 2009 - 20:00

Geoff

Here some thoughts, they are in conformity with the advice given by John, which is very good. I would, however, like to comment on the rig weight and section thickness he mentions, see below.